PHP welcomes new board members, honors retiring

Retiring PHP Board Members Wendell Barron, Dawn Springer, MD, Board Chair MaryLee Davis, PhD, Randy Rifkin and Richard Bruner.

Published: Jan. 3, 2013

Five board members, with a combined 70 years of service to Physicians Health Plan (PHP), were recently honored at their last meeting before retiring from the board.

Dawn Springer, MD, has served on the PHP Board for the last 18 years; Board Chair MaryLee Davis, PhD, Richard Bruner and Randy Rifkin each for the last 14; and Wendell Barron just over 10.

"We are so thankful for the many years of service these individuals devoted to PHP," said Scott Wilkerson, PHP President and CEO. "Their time on the board spanned significant milestones for PHP, and we are hopeful that the new board members will be able to say the same thing in years to come."

New members to the PHP Community Board of Directors for 2013 include Judith Cardenas, PhD; Timothy Hodge, DO; David Kaufman, DO; and Patrick McPharlin.

Director James Butler III will assume the duties of 2013 Board Chair.

PHP is governed by a Board of Directors composed of adult PHP enrollees, residents of the community, participating physicians, and hospitals. Returning Directors include Diana Rodriguez Algra; Kathleen Conklin; Patrick Gribben, Jr.; Thomas Hofman; Bradley Hoopingarner, MD; Deborah Muchmore; Kenneth Rudman, MD; Sparrow President and CEO Dennis Swan; and Wilkerson.

PHP has been recognized through the Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems Survey as one of Michigan's best health plans for customer service. The plan provides high‐quality health care coverage to more than 70,000 members and 300 employers across Michigan, along with Medicaid enrollees. It also serves as the administrator of the State's pre‐existing condition insurance plan, HIP Michigan. For more information, visit