Sparrow Physician Leadership Academy graduates first class

Published: Jan. 18, 2016

In March 2014, 30 Physicians, nominated by Sparrow Leadership for showing visionary potential, embarked upon a journey as the inaugural class of the Sparrow Physician Leadership Academy.

On Dec. 9, 2015, they celebrated their graduation, reflecting on the program and the ways in which it has impacted their personal and professional skills and changed their perspective going forward.

Participants remarked:

“Coming from an ambulatory setting, this gave me a connection to the hospital and the people there rather than just a name.” – Brooke Lemmen, D.O.

“As an independent Physician, the things I learned really apply and I was able to implement them in my office setting quickly.” – Iftiker Ahmad, M.D.

“As the youngest in the group, both in age and experience, I used the book and tools to tackle a new project.” – Carol Nwelue, M.D.

The program, a two-year curriculum aimed to cultivate Physicians, both employed and independent, with business skills and leadership expertise, is just one example of how Sparrow is embracing a culture of collaboration between administrators, Physicians, and organizational leaders as we prepare for the changing health care environment.

“We can only guarantee one thing going forward, and that is more change. Sparrow needs to invest in people that are adept at change management and leadership, and we need that in our Physicians as well as the Board Room. This is how we get there,” said Dennis Swan, Sparrow President and CEO.

Based on feedback from participants and lessons learned during this inaugural year, a second class will be formed soon. The next course will use a different format (eight all-day sessions in one year), incorporate the ability to apply earned CME towards the designation of “Certified Physician Executive” and/or one of several master’s programs, and consist of a smaller group of peer nominated Physicians.

“The Sparrow Board views Physician contributions to the leadership of our organization over time as invaluable.” - Barbara Given, Ph.D., RN, Chair, Sparrow Health System Board

2016 Sparrow Physician Leadership Academy graduates

  • Iftikar Ahmad, M.D.
  • Michael Andary, M.D.
  • Ovidiu Batca, M.D.
  • Christopher Beal, D.O.
  • Ellen Cavenagh, M.D.
  • James DeMuth, M.D.
  • Francesca Dwamena, M.D.
  • Doug Edema, M.D.
  • Paul Entler, D.O.
  • Carlos Fernandez, D.O.
  • Amit Ghose, M.D.
  • Ted Glynn, M.D.
  • Peter Graham, M.D.
  • Timothy Hodge, D.O.
  • Lucas Julien, M.D.
  • Rajil Karnani, M.D.
  • John Kepros, M.D.
  • Mindy Lane, D.O.
  • Brooke Lemmen, D.O.
  • Valerie Levitt, M.D.
  • Hugh Lindsey, M.D.
  • Edwin Marinas, M.D.
  • Andrew MacKersie, M.D.
  • Candace Metcalf, D.O.
  • Carol Nwelue, M.D.
  • Stanlyn Powers, D.O.
  • Timur Raghib, M.D.
  • Steven Roth, M.D.
  • Maryann Tran, M.D.