Nurses of the Year honored during 2015 Nurses Week

Sharon Cosgrove, RN, OCN (pictured middle), received Sparrow’s highest Nursing honor, the Jean Granger Award.

Published: May 7, 2015

Eleven Sparrow Nurses were given special recognition for extraordinary care and service as part of activities celebrating national Nurses Week.

Sharon Cosgrove, RN, OCN, of Lansing, who works in the Cancer Center, received Sparrow’s highest Nursing honor, the Jean Granger Award, which recognizes excellence in nursing at Sparrow and contributions to the community.

In addition, 10 Nurses were selected as Nurses of the Year in their specialty areas:

Allison Callison, RN, BSN, of Bronson – Emergency Services

Irma De Garcia, RN, ONC, of East Lansing – Medical/Surgical Services

Elizabeth Eaton, RN, BSN, MPH, of St. Johns – Sparrow Clinics/Practices/Affiliates

Dorothy Ingersoll, RN, of Mason – Behavioral Health

Michelle Kittendorf, BSN, RNC-NIC, of Williamston – Women/Children's Services

Sheri Platte, RN, of Fowler – Perioperative Services

Mary Pride, RN, BSN, of Lansing – Management

Amanda Smith, RN, BSN, of Lansing – Critical Care/Step-down Services

Stacey Sutton, NP-C,of Lansing – Hospice/Professional Support

Ashley Sweet, BSN, RN, PCCN, of Eagle – Advanced Practice and Education

By consistently going above and beyond, our Nurses have helped Sparrow join an elite group of hospitals nationwide to receive Magnet redesignation. It is the nation’s most prestigious honor for nursing achievement and excellence and is considered the “gold standard” for nursing care in hospitals.

Choose Wisely. Choose Sparrow.